Autobiography of a Female Foetus

In an unknown form, I am the destination of a journey called love,
The day my seeds were sown, i was tender and delicate like a dove.
My Creator was my Preserver and the Nurturer, in human form,
An epitome of divinity, both caring and warm.
She thought and dreamt about me for so many days,
I extracted all my essentials from her in many ways.
I was proud to carry forward the extension of my family,
My Father’s prayers were being answered and thus he indulged in charity.
With the passage of few months, I started gaining shape and size,
My Mother became more cautious and I was frequently under the doctor’s ultrasonic eyes.
One day, out of curiosity, my Granny threw ‘The Question’,
My parents couldn’t help but ignore the apprehension.
The lady doctor was requested and also promised to be rewarded,
While she was checking my nervous Mother and my heart-beat was being recorded.
My parents were anxious and the doctor looked thoughtful,
She asked, ‘What if the result is unfavourable, will you be merciful?”
My parents fell short of words and it was Granny who started to blabber,
In whose arms I had visualised myself being adored and cradled.
The doctor was convinced there was no escape from the crime,
But considering the reward in return, she didn’t seem to mind.
The test took place and the verdict was out,
There was a scary silence in the room and Granny gave a frown.
My Mother was numb, gathering courage to face the truth,
My Father looked helpless in front of her mother’s ruth.
Both my parents exchanged a look of despair and pain,
Tears rolled down my Mother’s cheeks, but their influence in vain.
The couple embraced each other and tried to be strong.
They thought, “Bringing her to life and still doing injustice will also be wrong.”
My death sentence didn’t take me aback yet my eyes watered,
I was like a goat who knows she is going to be slaughtered.
My Granny interrupted and forced my guardian to my gallows,
Where, on the contrary, I could have been welcomed and hallowed.
The door was shut and outside stood my Father wondering in disgust,
“Is it really humane for two women and mothers, on the law of nature, to have such distrust?”
The prick of unconsciousness was more like a slow poison,
It wasn’t the needle’s pain but the loss that made my Mother’s eyes moisten.
My assassination was done, the doctor acted innocent like a nun,
Mother laid lifeless, and Father sat besides, holding her hand and looked stunned.
I was pushed to Death even before I could see Life,
The complices being a doctor, a man, his mother and his wife.
In hopes of ‘the real successor’, i was considered an obstruction,
Which led the same source of my Creation to be my very source of Destruction.
18 thoughts on “Autobiography of a Female Foetus

    1. Thanx sooo much Dear !! The issue is sad indeed. Even the so-called educated people still prefer a male child over a female one, and due to this they land up being involved in heinous activities like this.

  1. maa..i do not see the world i search for..the skies and the earth i yearn for seem far away..even if i find all these tomorrow..i do not see the land of peace where i can stay..i search for those daggers that wounded me..weapons of hatred and animosity that shredded me..even if i find them tomorrow..i would never know about the hands that held them..i stand in a jungle of faces today..crowds of people walking away..i walk too but in dismay..because i am unable to see you..you are still far away..maa..you are very far away !

  2. Truely said Swati..:).. I do wish that your messages reaches to those who don’t understand the meaning of a girl child.. and thus start respecting the same….
    Hat’s off to your awesome article

  3. Well…. this refers to one mah ol tym favourite… For any person.. how important is childhood… πŸ™‚

    Know you what it is to be a child? It is to be something very different from the man of to-day. It is to have a spirit yet streaming from the waters of purity and innocence; it is to believe in love, to believe in loveliness, to believe in belief; it is to be so little that the elves can reach to whisper in your ear; it is to turn pumpkins into coaches, and mice into horses, lowness into loftiness, and nothing into everything, for each child has its fairy godmother in its own soul.”

  4. This is a great write Swati…female feticide is one of the crimes that people commit and doesn’t even shake their conscience a bit. I’ve seen such people even in my hospital.
    I’ve reblogged this…

  5. Swati.. this is very inspiring.. such an important issue.. n u expressed urself so well… my only request – share it with more an more people through various media… social netwroking sites n all… such a brlliant piece shud realize its full potential in bringing about change.. as shud such a brilliant writer

    1. Hey Chiggi..thanx so much fr d inspiring words..i have shared it with a couple of people..who i think are sensitive enough to realise the issue and its social implications, including u :-)..hope it brings abt sum change πŸ™‚

      Sent from my HTC

  6. It’s a harsh reality. The rich wants a male child but the poor people always accept and love what they give birth to.
    But do write where the creator of the female foetus gets the strength to go against wrong and the baby girl comes into this world.

    But Impacting writing Swat.

Leave a Reply

